We support the Austin Public Library. Learn how you can, too.

Illumine 2015 logo

The Library Foundation's annual benefit, Illumine, honors members of the Austin community for outstanding literary achievement. 

Join us for the 5th Annual Illumine!

Friday, November 13, 7pm – 10 pm
W Austin Hotel, 200 Lavaca Street, Austin, Texas

Tickets: $150 
Sponsorships: $10,000, $5,000, $3,000, $1,500 

CLICK HERE to sponsor a table or buy tickets. 

   Illumine Honorees

Illumine 2015 Honorees:

Songwriting: Sara Hickman 
Presenter: Michael Blair, Executive VP & Senior Creative Director at GSD&M

Poetry: Dean Young
Presenter: Chris Mink, Poet and Teacher

Luminary Award for Literary Patron: Forrest Preece
Presenter: Sarah Bird, Author

Nonfiction: H.W. Brands
Presenter: Stephen Harrigan, Author

About the Honorees 

Nonfiction Honoree Henry William Brands writes on American history and politics, with books including The Man Who Saved the Union, Traitor to His Class, Andrew Jackson, The Age of Gold, The First American, and TR (Teddy Roosevelt). Several of his books have been bestsellers; two, Traitor to His Class and The First American, were finalists for the Pulitzer Prize. Brands lectures frequently on historical and current events and can be seen and heard on national and international television and radio. He holds the Jack S. Blanton Sr. Chair in History at the University of Texas, Austin.

Poetry Honoree Dean Young has published eleven books of poetry, including Elegy on Toy Piano (2005) which was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize. He has received support for his work from the Guggenhiem Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts, and the American Academy of Arts and Letters. He is currently the Livingston Chair of Poetry at the University of Texas, Austin. In 2014, he was appointed the state poet laureate of Texas.

Songwriting Honoree Sara Hickman is a captivating singer/songwriter, vocalist and musician, with artists such as Shawn Colvin, the Flatlanders, Robert Earl Keen, Willie Nelson and others covering her songs. Her latest album, Shine, is a memorable collection of ten songs that take the listener on a journey through a broad spectrum of emotions. She has been a guest performer on more than two dozen albums with other artists, and has toured with Billy Bragg, Dan Fogelberg, and Nanci Griffith. She has opened for artists such as the Decemberists, John Hiatt, and Lucinda Williams. She was named the “Official State Musician of Texas” in 2010, joining luminaries like Willie Nelson and Lyle Lovett.

Literary Patron Honoree Forrest Preece, an Austin native, spent much of his childhood in the Austin Public Library. In 1968, he graduated from The University of Texas with a BA in Plan II/English. At UT, he played in the Longhorn Band and the University Symphony, wrote for The Daily Texan, and was president of the advertising fraternity. In 1977, he started his advertising agency Good Right Arm and retired in 2005. Forrest served on the board of directors of Badgerdog Literary Publishing for six years and is a longtime supporter of the Austin Public Library Friends Foundation. He serves on the boards of Ballet Austin and the Austin Convention and Visitors Bureau. Linda and Forrest are on the Director’s Council of the Butler School of Music at the University of Texas. 

Illumine 2014 Honorees

Fiction: James Magnuson
 Presented by: Sarah Bird

Nonfiction: Lawrence Wright
 Presented by: Stephen Harrigan
Emerging Author: Kelly Luce
 Presented by: Callie Collins
Luminary Award (Literary Patrons): 
Brad and Michele Moore
 Presented by: Dave Hamrick
Forrest Preece Young Authors Awards:
Brandee Benson and Jenna Hoover

Illumine 2012 Honorees

Fiction: Sarah Bird 
 Presented by: Michael Adams
Nonfiction: Douglas Brinkley 
 Presented by: Tom Staley
Children's Literature: 
Liz Garton Scanlon
 Presented by: Lymon Grant   
Songwriting: Joe Ely 
 Presented by: Turk Pipkin 
Luminary Award (Literary Patron): 
Darryl Tocker 
 Presented by: Pat Smith 


Illumine 2013 Honorees

Fiction: Stephen Harrigan
 Presented by: Elizabeth Crook 
 Steven Weinberg
 Presented by: Gregory Curtis
Young Adult Literature: 
Cynthia Leitich Smith
 Presented by: Mark Mitchell
Luminary Award (Literary Patron): 
Carmel Borders
 Presented by: Jeanne Klein 

Illumine 2011 Honorees

Fiction: Dagoberto Gilb
 Presented by: David Garza 
Non-Fiction: Gregory Curtis
 Presented by: Jake Silverstein
Emerging Author: Carrie Fountain
 Presented by: James Magnuson
Songwriting: Jimmie Dale Gilmore
 Presented by: Ross Ramsey
Luminary Award (Literary Patron): 
Marc Winkelman
 Presented by: Joseph Skibell


 HEB 30th Champions     TX Gas logo     Vinson Elkins logo

GDHM logo       LCRA Blue

Linda Ball and Forrest Preece   ♦   Kristen Worrall

Alex Wettlaufer   ♦   Brad and Michele Moore

Becky Beaver and John Duncan   ♦   Ninth Planet Press

Jackson Walker, LLP   ♦   Marcy and Jeff Carpenter

 Beveridge & Diamond, PC

Donate to APLFF

Sign up for Email

   Please leave this field empty        

Library for the Future


 Learn more about Austin's 
New Central Library 

Follow Us


Share our site